Skip to content

Saint Simon – The Shins

September 18, 2005

So this is the new home of my blog. After a little bit of prodding from L-Mo, I decided that this would be the new home of the Life and Times of Abe Froman. And so far, so good.

I was watching the Emmy’s tonight and while I watch these things with a subdued interests because the shows I pull for and watch never seem to win or even get nominated (Six Feet Under), but they did this tribute of sorts to honor the careers of Tom Brokaw, Dan Rather and the late Peter Jennings. And it was a pretty touching tribute to the only three news anchors that I’ve ever seen in my lifetime. Although, I think that sometimes as journalists, we tend to be sensationalist and I feel that since Woodward and Bernstein, we have a heightened sense of importance but those three men really do make me proud to be journalists. Those are the kinds of men that you want as ambassadors for your profession and for the past 25 years, we couldn’t have asked for better representatives of what we do then those three men. Their impressions on american culture and journalism will last fair longer than their impressive stints as network anchormen. I don’t think I’ll ever forget Dan Rather sitting next to David Letterman after 9-11, both of them clearly shaken by the tragedy… a really touching moment and one of many that stick out in my mind as personifying the way each and every American was touched by that tragedy.

So I was around my mother for a substantial amount of this afternoon and whenever I’m around my mother I realize why I am the way I am. I am my mother’s son. That’s not to say that I’m a sissy momma’s boy but I really feel like I’m a reflection of the person she is… for better or worse. She’s one of the most selfless and unconditionally loving people I’ve ever been around in my life and I love her to no end. I inherited my mother’s incessant worrying about things beyond and within the realm of my control….for that, I’m not so appreciative. I just fear that my mom doesn’t realize how appreciative of the kind of mother, person and especially friend that she’s been to me in my 21 years on this planet. I’ll spend a lifetime repaying her. I love you mum!

Song that was playing when I finished this: Banquet – Bloc Party

My Hero of the Day:

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

