Skip to content

Coldplay – Fix You

September 22, 2005

So it’s late last night.. like 2 or so. And I’m flipping through the channels, trying to find something to fall asleep to. And I flipped past VH1 and I happened to catch the video for “Fix You”. And I remember the first time I saw it, the first scenes are Chris Martin walking in slow motion through an industrial part of a city at night. And I’m sitting here thinking “Oh no, this is a gorgeous and uplifting tune, don’t tell me they gave it the over-the-top cheesy treatment”. And then when Johnny’s guitar part kicks in, Chris Martin starts running and he runs on stage at Reebok Stadium in Bolton, in the UK and all you see is this sea of people going crazy and then the band plays the end of the song together and there’s this amazing moment at the end where they allow the natural sound of the crowd to come through and you can hear the crowd sing the last couple lines and it’s this embarassingly cathartic moment… it’s such a cool video because of the complete change in direction. Sophie Muller (the director of the video) def. gave me the fake out.

So L-Mo gave me my list for today and it was about bands or acts that were supposed to be the next big thing and for one reason or another died out and then to list some bands or acts that I think shouldn’t have faded out… I couldn’t think of too many overhyped, under talented bands besides The White Stripes and maybe The Strokes. But I can think of some bands that I love that people may have forgotten about.

Travis – this was a band that was touted as the savior of BritPop after Oasis imploded and somehow that never really came to fruition. Travis has written some of my favorite songs especially “Why Does it Always Rain on Me”, “Side”, “Flowers in the Window” and one of my favorite songs ever “Driftwood”. I think that their newer stuff with the exception of Love Will Come Through” and “Re-Offender” is kind of misguided but their first two records “The Man Who” and “The Invisble Band” are two of my favorites.

Jim Croce – I think Croce will always hold a place in my heart because it’s the music I grew up with but I really feel like some of those songs are some of the most beautifully simple songs that I’ve ever heard. I think “Operator” will always be one of my favorite songs.. Photographs and Memories, Time in a Bottle, Lover’s Cross, I’ll Have to Say I Love You in a Song..Those songs just remind me of being 6 again and they take me to a place that is a lot less sonically confusing. I listen to those records and I love how little frills they are. It’s pretty bare bones, no nonsense. I may have the first dance at my wedding to I’ll Have to Say I Love You in a Song.

R.E.M. – For some reason, people don’t think R.E.M. is relevant anymore and those people are idiots. I professed my love for R.E.M. in the last entry… check it out… if you need some R.E.M. recos, let me know..

“I’m very scared for this world, I’m very scared for me” – R.E.M. “You are the Everything”

Song that was playing when I finished this: Ben Folds Five – “Alice Childress”

My Hero(es) of the Day:

One Comment leave one →
  1. lauren permalink
    September 23, 2005 10:50 am

    “The greatest trick of the devil…is not to get us into some sort of evil but rather have us wasting time. This is why the devil tries so hard to get [men] to be religious. If he can sink a man’s mind into habit, he will prevent his heart from engaging God.”

Leave a Reply

