Skip to content

Bloc Party – Banquet

September 28, 2005

I was watching CNN last night and I just happened to flip by and Nancy Grace was on and ordinarily I would have kept going (anyone who has ever seen or attempt to watch anything Nancy Grace is on knows why) but there was a very peculiar heading at the bottom of the screen. Something to the effect of that insurance companies were refusing to pay people who’s homes had been destroyed or damaged in the hurricane due to the breaking of the levee. As much as I think we need to (but won’t) do away with insurance companies and the general evil that they bring to the world, this is a new low. This is a new low in corporate greed. They are claiming that the levee breaking and that water isn’t something that is covered on most homeowner’s insurance policies. This is why we fucking have insurance companies. It’s to make people whole after an inexplicable tragedy and if they don’t come through now then we need to scrap the whole fucking thing because it’s not working. As I sit here and type this, I just feel a general sense of disgust about the whole system and the nature of things and the knowledge that as much as I want things to change, there is very little I can do to change it. What we have is a system of government that is so far fucked that the only thing you can do to keep sane is laugh at it, hence why The Daily Show is so immensily popular.

I read an article in the last issue of Rolling Stone (an airsickness bag fastened to my face with scotch tape) and it was ultra-liberal, like to the left of Marx, writer Matt Taibbi writing about how he and Sean Penn took Sean Penn’s boat to rescue people from their homes. And I think that Sean Penn’s actions and the actions of so many during this unprecedented period of government incompetance (this isn’t strictly a Bush administration foul-up, it was across the boards an ill-equipped system bound for disaster) can only be described as heroic. While the government was stuck behind the red tape they claim to be frustrated by but take so much joy in created, people like Penn and so many others took it upon themselves to go into this area and do what the government could and would not: HELP PEOPLE. My hats go off to those people. I think it’s important that we keep talking about this because this problem isn’t going anywhere anytime soon. So continue to give money and clothes and whatever you can to the Red Cross.

So I was watching Montel today, ok I wasn’t watching Montel, it was on as I was getting changed to go to the gym. And Sylvia Browne was on and for those of you who aren’t familiar with the psychic stylings of Slyvia Browne, she is probably one of the most famous psychics in the world I would say. And she was talking about this idea of astral projection, where your spirit leaves your body in your sleep and you just kind of cruise around and that that this is why people think they see ghosts when it’s actually the spirit of a living person just cruising around in this state. I’m not sure how much I believe in any of that stuff, I mean I guess I’d like to believe there is some kind of afterlife, that there is something after this game ends but I don’t subscribe a lot of that astrological stuff. But sometimes it’s fun to suspend your disbelief for a second and think about what it would be like to go cruise around town as a spirit and just spook people. It sure as hell beats thinking about what a fucking mess we’re in with oil and how our economy and our way of living is based on something that is non-renewable. You think ghosts are scary, think about that.

79. Death Cab for Cutie – Pictures in an Exhibition
78. Built to Spill – You Were Right
77. Athlete – Modern Mafia
76. Counting Crows – Monkey
75. Coldplay – High Speed
74. Francis Dunnery – Good Life
73. David Gray – Everytime
72. Franz Ferdinand – Take Me Out
71. John Mayer – Why Did You Mess With Forever?
70. The Shins – Kissing the Lipless

My Hero of the Day:

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

