Skip to content

Death Cab for Cutie – Soul Meets Body

October 13, 2005

I was walking outside today and I saw a squirrel drinking from a stream. I don’t know why this struck me as bizarre because squirrels need water and hyrdation like any living organism but I guess I’d never really thought about it and so to see a squirrel sitting on a rock in the middle of the stream, drinking.. it was just one of those moments where you can kind of smile and for a moment, not take yourself too seriously.

I was listening to “Title and Registration” the other day and something occured to me about breakups and it’s something that that song directly speaks to. This idea of “there’s no blame for how our love did slowly and now that it’s gone, it’s like it wasn’t there at all…” I feel like all of my past relationships, or the relationships that I’ve been out for some amount of time almost feel like dreams. It’s like I remember those times that I spent with that person but almost in a fuzzy, soap opera dream kind of way, like it’s something that I easily could have confused with a dream. It’s weird when you break up with someone, the second that relationship is over you become a volume in that person’s encyclopedia of baggage… you become “this guy I dated”, you become a part of that person’s past and it happens in an instant.

As per L-Mo’s request, I am about to divest myself of an cinematic credibility that I have my listing my top 5 guilty pleasure movies.. that is.. my top 5 movies that I like that I know I shouldn’t like…

5. Out Cold – This is admittedly a terrible movie by the Malloy Brothers, who are good friends with Jack Johnson but this is a terrible movie but it makes me laugh everytime I watch it. The scene with the fey bartender comes out to his friends, who have known for some time that he was gay, cracks me up.. I think it’s Zach Galifanakis’ performance in the film that makes it worth watching the dude is hilarious. The ski resort where the characters work at is consumed by a corporate enterprise and they are forced to wear this spandex, lycra ski outfits and there’s an outtake where Galifanakis improvs “This outfit is really cramping my Hardy Boys.. it’s no mystery!” Gets me everytime.. if you haven’t seen it.. check it out.. it’s pretty funny but def. not appearing on any AFI List anytime soon.

4. Notting Hill – This is a movie that I really enjoy, in part because my off-again, on-again mancrush on Hugh Grant and I think that he is great in this film along with Spike (Rhys Ifans). I do have a pretty sizeable beef with the end of the film. There are 3 count ’em, 3 separate occasions where Julia Roberts’ character shits on Hugh Grant’s character.. once when her boyfriend shows up unexpected at the hotel and treats Grant’s character like a hotel employee, the second is at Will’s flat where the paparazzi show up and Julia Roberts fruits out and says that she’d regret the time they spent together forever and third when they’re on the movie set and Roberts tells her co-star in a film (not aware that they are mic-ed and Grant is listening) that she doesn’t really know him and doesn’t know why he’s there and it’s kind of awkward. So then at the end of the film where she delivers that “I’m just a girl asking a boy to love her” speech, and he finally has the good sense to tell her to get fucked, why is it at the end of the film that it’s Will with his hat in his hand asking for forgiveness from HER, for fuck’s sake? It’s bullshit sexism…hear that women’s libbers… sexism! There’s a joke by Orny Adams in Comedian where he says “Women couldn’t vote for a while and then there was a vote to see if they could vote… HOW THE FUCK DID WE LOSE THAT?!?!” Sorry sidetracked.

3. Drumline – First of all, the girl who plays Nick Cannon’s love interest in the film is goooorgeous, she’s also in Guess Who? which is a film that should set aflame and we should claim that it was never made as it reflects horribly on our culture at large that we could allow something so horrid to reach the public. The film is entertaining and mindless and you’ve got to give props to a movie that can make marching bands look cool..

2. You’ve Got Mail – This was a hotly contested fight for number one but ultimately this movie was the runner – up because of the people involved. I feel like this is too talented a cast with too established a directed (Nora Ephron) to really be considered a guilty pleasure. Granted it’s not Citizen Kane but Tom Hanks is the man in this film, really funny and charming and although he is supposed to be this snaky, corporate, social darwinist, he pulls it off in a really charming, affable way. And Meg Ryan has never been cuter and this is the film she was in right before her lips went the way of Jack Nicholson in Tim Burton’s Batman. Great supporting performances by Greg Kinnear, Dave Chapelle and Steve Zahn.

1. Three to Tango – This movie takes the cake because it’s admittedly an awful movie, but Matthew Perry and Oliver Platt are really fantastic together and I think there are parts in the film that are genuinely really funny, it’s pretty clever.. the dramatic stuff and the love story especially just don’t play for me but it’s a pretty mindless and entertaining movie.

Hero(es) of the Day:

Original Caption : Pretty Boy Singer and John Mayer

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

