Skip to content

Slow.

December 12, 2006

Well another workday here at the Destin Log has come and — well it’s still coming. But alas, my contributions for tomorrow’s paper are written and now I await my bosses’ critiques and questions while counting down the seconds until lunchtime.

I’m going home for Christmas which is one of the most comforting thoughts I think I can imagine though it makes me nostalgic for all those Christmases I spent at home and took them for granted. How many breaks I spent worrying about my grades and what they might look like. It’s the little things that I miss about being home around Christmas time. It’s anxiously awaiting my last final and then driving home with a car full of stuff (mostly clothes) and sitting by the Christmas tree. It’s listening to Sirius Holiday or walking into my parent’s house and seeing the Christmas tree with more ornaments per branch than should be allowed by law. I think Christmas time is the one time of year where you realize the things you take for granted — like cold weather. Looking at the weather in Destin for the next 10 days, there isn’t a low temperature that goes below 46 degrees. IT’S CHRISTMAS! I want to walk outside and not be able to feel my face. I want to have to wear a jacket to work instead of wearing one because it pulls my outfit together. Anyway, I guess the moral of the story is to make sure this Christmas you take the time out to notice and appreciate the little things and people, not little people just the little things and the people, that make this time of year so special.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

