Skip to content

When I come back like Jordan, wearing the 45…

May 15, 2008

Call it narcissism. I guess I’d like to think of it more as boredom. Too many times in the past month, I’ve seen something, heard something and thought, “I really wish I still had my blog. I’d love to blog on that.” Well now, I can blog on that.

For those who knew me during my time as Patrick Donohue of the Destin Log, welcome back. I now find myself in South Carolina at a newspaper that shall remain nameless for the time being. I won’t be writing too much about what I do here but instead stick to the musings on sports, film, cooking, music and whatever else strikes my fancy. You know, the things you think about and, frankly, care far too much about when you’re not at work.

My departure from the Log was amiable. It was a tough divorce as I had grown to love Destin and Northwest Florida. For all its warts (or perceived warts), it was really a one-of-a-kind community that I miss everyday. There is no mud to sling, no one to trash. I was a little frustrated with the direction of the paper but who isn’t frustrated with where they work and the conditions, in which, they work. I wish all of my colleagues and everyone I got to know in Destin the very best of luck.

None the less, I’ll be posting here fairly regularly. If, for no other reason, than to amuse myself. I may be picking the wrong time of year to do this as we enter the dog days of summer but hopefully the goings on in the foodie world and any of the various entertainment fields that I love so much, will be able to hold me over until football returns.

Patrick

One Comment leave one →
  1. Kathy permalink
    May 19, 2008 11:29 am

    We all miss you here at the log. Nice to see you have your blog again. It makes me feel a bit closer to you. Keep up the good work. I was disappointed about REM too. Bummer

    Kathy 😉

Leave a Reply

