Skip to content

Reviewing my DVD collection: Clerks

July 2, 2008

It’s pretty tough to review a movie that was made in 1994 for about $30,000, the same way you’d review a movie made in 2008 for $30 million but, for me, Clerks was one of the first Indie films I ever saw and for that holds a special place in my heart.

So for that reason, I overlook most of the film’s community theater-level acting, bad editing and terrible overdubs.

I think every movie-lover sees something of themselves in Clerks and sees something of themselves in its everyman director, Kevin Smith. The film is the ultimate, “Hey, I can do that!” It’s a bunch of friends, some maxed out credit cards and a convenience store. It’s not pretentious, it’s hardly great-looking but the film works for me.

A little crude but never lowest common denominator, the film has a certain sarcastic, acerbic sensibility that makes it tough not to enjoy.

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 8, 2008 7:14 pm

    Clerks is awesome. Even though the acting is horrible the language and syntax of the screenplay made the pointless dialogs flow.

    Besides how many times have you ever said:

    “I’m not even supposed to be here today!”

    Welcome to SC. I’m in Columbia. I’ve enjoyed your writing since I came across it on LWS. I know the Lowcountry very well. Beautiful area be sure and check out the Isle of Palms.

Leave a Reply

