Skip to content

Sometimes I’m glad my team doesn’t listen to me…

July 10, 2008

When I heard about Jacksonville wide receiver, as much as you can call a 4-year player with 13 career touchdowns a wide receiver, Matt Jones’ felony drug arrest for cocaine possession, I breathed a deep sigh of relief that he wasn’t an Eagle.

Jones was a combine warrior coming out of Arkansas after making the move from quarterback to receiver. At 6’6″, Jones ran a sub 4.4 forty and with my team, the Eagles, perpetually starved for big-play wide receivers, I saw drafting Jones as a first-rounder as a no-brainer for my team. God, I’m really glad that no one listens to me and I’m even more glad that Jones was off the board 10 picks before the Eagles’ selection.

On top of apparently being a coke addict, Jones has been virtually invisible in three seasons with the Jags and was deactivated last year for three games by head coach Jack Del Rio after becoming frustrated with Jones’ demeanor and work ethic.

While the jury is still out on the Eagles first round pick in 2005, USC defensive tackle Mike Patterson, the jury appears in on Matt Jones: draft bust.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

