Skip to content

Thank You Bravo

January 19, 2009
tags:

west_wing_cast

Despite peddling hours of nonsense reality television (see “The Real Housewives of… (Fill in the city, I’m sure Tacoma is next on the list) and ruining Top Chef with too many team challenges and almost abhorrently blatant and offensive product placement (see: The Not-So-Subtle push-in on the T-Mobile Sidekick Hosea is using to call home during a recent episode), Bravo has won favor with me and brought back Aaron Sorkin’s The West Wing on weekday mornings and for one hour at like 2 a.m.

Even though Lost, Heroes, Fringe, Scrubs, and The Office – all shows I love – are returning to the airwaves this month, it is  has been Aaron Sorkin’s White House drama that I’ve looked forward to watching every day for the past few weeks. I was a passive West Wing fan during its run from 1999 to 2006, but watching it now, I have a real appreciation for Sorkin’s brilliance and the utter greatness of the show’s cast. 

I was already somewhat pre-disposed to Sorkin worship before enjoying The West Wing’s run on Bravo on weekday mornings. I’ve seen every episode of Sorkin’s tragically underrated Sportsnight, a dramedy starring Six Feet Under’s Peter Krause and Felicity Huffman of Desperate Housewives fame. A lot of the Sportsnight regulars make appearances on The West Wing, including the great Joshua Malina who comes on in 2003 as speechwriter Will Bailey.

Part touching, compelling political drama, part workplace comedy, The West Wing is one of the best American television shows of the last decade and certainly the best and most realistic political show ever on television.

Below is one of my favorite West Wing moments and one, I’m not afraid to say, gave me goosebumps and made me cry. Just amazing writing and compelling television. If this doesn’t move you, there’s a better than average chance you don’t have a soul.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

